What's been happenin?? A LOT
I guess the picture has been set on our routine of training. It is not letting up. Although acclimatising has made it more bearable the effort is rising so not getting any easier. No pain = No gain!
Lifestyle choice!? Mad, Crazy or just driven or even inspired?!
I like to think it is the latter. People not educated in the triathlon way of life straight out say we are "crazy", but spend some time with the group we have been with for 2 weeks now and you quickly realise what potential there is and how much fun it can be being around such a positive vibe. It surely has opened both our eyes pretty wide and so far it has been a dream.
Lets take it away from the blood sweat and tears and talk a little.
The Phuket way?
Well, starting on the ROAD....
Rule No. 1 : there are no rules!
Rule number 2 : expect the unexpected.
Rule No. 3 : NEVER hesitate.
We have seen some awesome sights starting on our main road. First being truck loads of workers packed in like sardines on the way to the morning shift, hanging to the last rail at the back, chin right up against it....... But what if driver suddenly? School kids doing the same on route! Busses gunning it in the scooter lane, jumping reds all over the place. It is fun I must say driving in a steady line amongst it all. We do limit our time on the main road in the busy times. The back lanes are more subdued driving which is why we go the long loop home after a heavy session.
Out on the bike we are mostly on the lanes. Here there are not many stationary obstacles to look out for a part from the speedbumps. The roads are very nice! BUT the moving objects are somewhat different. DOGS a plenty! They love the road and when they are suffering from the heat they don't know the back legs from the front and tend to zig zag whilst the group is approaching. We tend to pick a line at last minute with a whistle warning. They are cute though :) Human's on scooters tend to hold there line much better and are actually quite considerate. Buffalo was a new one for us a few days ago......
Picture this, ONE farmer, SIX Buffalo of varying size with an equal number of ropes. Buffalo on one side of the road, farmer on the other. Both hugging the bitumen. Add to this about 15-20 cyclists coming around a bend at about 30kph..... Now I think on certain permutations of this it could make it into funniest home videos at a drop of a hat. I was at the front and could see the eyes of the biggest Buf, shift eye sight to farmer who looked like HE had left the big pile from his steads beside the road. What to do..... For me, easy don't slam the breaks as I would have a handlebar up my arse.
Secondly..... I pray (if I was religious)
The farmer, I think he hoped and prayed as well. I could see the ropes getting tighter as the Bufs got startled. Split second you could he and his 14legs could have hung out to dry 15 cyclists keeping firm with his heard. He probably would have been launched also..... Instead he LET GO and 15 cyclists safely made it over 6 moving speed bumps. Had to laugh but holy shit that could have been brutal. Most of the guys in the group shrugged it off pretty quick. Hoping it isn't a regular occourance!
Mmmm what else... Oh yeah how cool are the 80yr old granny's. They ride side saddle on a scooter going at 80 clicks!
The WEATHER. Its not that i don't have much to say but it does intrigue me.... Hot and humid is a start. We have literally just missed the rainy season. Before we got here it was said to have been poring for days on end (explains Bangkoks situation) Whilst we have been here it has been HOT and mostly crystal clear to go along with it. I guess you can tell it has been a while for this Aussie to experience the heat. There has been the odd storm drenching at night and the odd monsoon shower out of no where but mostly 30odd, humid and a light hairdryer breeze to top it off. Chatting to a local (German local) it is said that when the sea goes 'flat' that is the end of the rain. Apparently it is flat as I a couple of days ago so we are home and dry..... we get to see this phenomenon on our weekly swim....
Mmm yes swimming at the beach. Being in our triathlon community we get to experience the little quieter ones and the little coves. We have both come to the conclusion that we are non Patong goers and opt for the quant beach with a fishermans boat passing by. It was way too mental for us kids on our tourist route the other day. We are a bit biased for the northern part of the island.
REAL ESTATE! Remarkable. All the londoners will know the set up of the good the bad and the ugly being in each others pockets and Phuket is no different. We are in a new estate with some cute little old men for guards, a gated front with a neat door bell. 2 mins out there is someone selling fish on a little cart. The cart is in front of a shack made from tin. The person selling the fish doesn't look content, bit angry or even scary.......Or do they!?
The PEOPLE - You give the person selling the snapper a smile whilst dripping with sweat from finishing a run along side their 'house'. In a split second their face lights up and extinguishes any second guessing you were making about them or there family behind the cart. They are JUST really nice people and as you have found out (if reading older blogs) they love to help. That has struck a cord with me in the first couple of weeks here. No second guessing.... Atleast out of the tourist traps where we are. The Thai guys in the Tri Academy are some of the nicest guys I have met. Not only are they talented athletes that can push me but they are a pleasure to spend time with and always keen to end a session with a high 5 or slap on the back of job well done.
FOOD - during training blocks it is my last thought before falling off to sleep and my first thought when I wake(sorry Cat). We have manage to feed ourselves on half a traditional English and half on bastardised Thai. This divide usually is split from breakfast to evening (don't fancy curry for brekky). Visiting the markets for veg, veg and more veg and visiting Tesco Lotus for all our safety deposit box food. I tend to be the cook for eating in and have to admit the sauces that I use with particular dishes need some serious thai work. Eating out is CHEAP and to die for. The taste is amazing and we are trying to do it more. Now we have our favourite not far away we will be well looked after....
I guess I better shut up shop or my first one of our adventure. Just a bit of musing. Not many additional pics thus far as too busy to stop ;)
In store for us over the next week, Starting with our little beach swim in the morning, and we are being taken to a private island on Friday so stay tuned.
BenBen (still not sure who is first?)
No comments:
Post a Comment